2021-2022 Season Schedule

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League has released its 2021-22 regular season schedule, with 16 teams in action on opening night October 1st.

The league is pleased to welcome back the 100 Mile House Wranglers, Beaver Valley Nitehawks and Spokane Braves after a season away. With all 20 clubs hitting the ice, the KIJHL returns to its traditional four division format with five teams each competing in the Doug Birks, Eddie Mountain, Neil Murdoch and Bill Ohlhausen divisions. All teams will play a 42-game regular season with eight games each against divisional rivals as well as two games against opponents from the alternate division within the same conference.

The KIJHL will observe a holiday break from December 20-27 with games resuming December 28th and the regular season concluding on Saturday, February 19th. The KIJHL playoffs begin on February 22nd with 16 teams begin their quest for the Teck Cup.

The eight-game opening night slate includes a number of divisional clashes, as Sicamous visits Chase and Princeton hosts Kelowna in the Okanagan/Shuswap Conference,  while Spokane hosts Grand Forks, Beaver Valley visits Nelson, Kimberley entertains Columbia Valley and Fernie heads to Creston Valley in the Kootenay Conference. There are also a pair of out-of-division contests, as Osoyoos travels to Kamloops and Castlegar takes on the Rockets in Golden.

The (still) defending KIJHL and Cyclone Taylor Cup champion Revelstoke Grizzlies open their season on Saturday, October 2nd, when they visit the Kamloops Storm.

The Wranglers return to action on Oct. 2 when they host Chase at South Cariboo Rec Centre, while Spokane is scheduled to make their first trip north of the border when they visit Golden and Columbia Valley on October 8th and 9th.

For ticket information, visiting your local KIJHL’s team website. As always, fans who are unable to attend games in person can catch all the action live online with a HockeyTV subscription.

KIJHL News: https://www.kijhl.ca/kijhl-releases-its-2021-22-regular-season-schedule